UCLA ART SCI – Value(s) of NFT-ART

Value(s) of NFT-ART: A critical discussion about Cryptoart and NFTs with esteemed guests, Christiane Paul, Alex May, and Tamiko Thiel and Anuradha Vikram.

NFTs (Non-Fungible-Tokens) have consumed conversations since early February and have left many with contradictory feelings of excitement, confusion and, in some cases, outrage at this rapidly growing art market. NFTs at the same time have disrupted traditions in the artworld and offered potential for democratization of the art market, provided a resource for artists to show and sell work, provided a lens for carbon traceability of transactions resulting in discussions about the carbon footprint of NFTs and raised questions about archiving digital art.

In order to gain an understanding about what’s going on, we are sitting down with some experts to open up a dialogue for critical conversation surrounding these contentious possibilities.

Christiane Paul (Parsons School of Design/The New School) and Alex May (contemporary British media artist / University of Hertfordshire) will will provide us with history and context of NFTs and their relationship to art, discuss the challenges of digital preservation for NFTs and artists’ response to the environmental impacts and how this growing market might forever change the way we look at art. After their presentations, Tamiko Thiel (Virtual and Augmented Reality media artist) and Anuradha Vikram (Writer, curator and educator) will respond to the topics up and begin the discussion.

The event took place on Thursday, May 20th at 9:00am PST // 12:00pm EST // 5:00pm BST.